RSS Feed

Your chance to own an original Salvador Dali…

As some of you may have seen, last week we added an original Salvador Dali sketch to our stock….And I couldn’t be more excited about it.

If someone had told me when I was in university that I would one day be handling the sale of an original Dali, I most certainly wouldn’t have believed them.

Dali is arguably one of the best surrealist painters in the history of the movement, and there is no doubt that he is one of the most famous. As we have mentioned in our stock description, his painting The Persistence of Memory  is one of the most recognisable surrealist paintings around.

His most expensive painting, Portrait de Paul Eluard sold for £13,481,250 in 2011.

Of course, this isn’t a completed masterpiece, but rather a study, perhaps drawn in preparation for one of his paintings.

Photobucket

Original Dali sketch- available for purchase on our website

Dali’s sketch of a nude figure provides an interesting insight into the way he worked on his art. But what I find most interesting is the smaller sketches drawn lightly around the figure. These include what appears to be a hare lying in a bed, a fox in a coat standing on two legs reading a book and a dog like creature with the head of a lady with a rather witch-like nose.

Typical Dali, eh?!

The sketch comes from the collection of Gala Dali and we’re offering it with our unique 120% guarantee.

You’d better get there quick though. We’re pretty sure this one’s going to get snapped up very soon!

By Kylie.

About paulfrasercollectibles

Expert opinion, news, views and interviews allowing you to collect and invest with confidence.

One response »

  1. Yea, there was a time I was craving to own one of his works. By that time, I would have willingly exchanged my girl friend for such works! Thank God I did’n see or buy any then because my girl friend then became my wife and gave me 5 lovely and intelligent kids!
    Sorry mate pass the sketch to another guy not me! Justus.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

