RSS Feed

£161 million? Yes, please…

It has emerged today that the very lucky winners of the Lotto’s £161 million prize are Scottish couple, Colin Weir, 64 and his wife Chris, 55. According to The Telegraph, the couple have said that their immediate plans for their winnings include buying houses for their son and daughter and trips to Australia and China.

The couple were so thrilled with their jackpot that they even indulged in a single glass of white wine which is “something I normally only do at Christmas”, according to Chris.

Not sure that’s how I would have celebrated myself but the story did get me thinking, if I won £161m, what would I buy…?

Here’s my top 5 ultimate collectibles…

1)      Like most girls, I do like a good dress. And I couldn’t think of a better one to own than Marilyn Monroe’s famous subway dress from Seven Year Itch.

Photobucket

The frock, which I think is fair to say is the most iconic costume from cinema history, sold earlier this year for a whopping $5,658,000, only a fraction of the £161m Lotto jackpot.

Needless to say I would also be purchasing a number of fans and re-enacting Marilyn’s subway scene in my living room on a daily basis…

2)      Now I have to admit, I’m a bit of a bookworm, and would definitely include The Great Gatsby in my list of all time favourite novels. I’d love to get my hands on a rare first edition copy in immaculate condition.

And had I won £161 million 2 years ago, I may have got just that. In June 2009, a first edition of The Great Gatsby, complete with immaculate dust jacket, sold for $180,000, well exceeding its $80,000-$120,000 pre-sale estimate.

3)      This next piece is something I’ve had my eye on for a while. Worth a cool £4.5 million, this panther bracelet was once owned by Wallis Simpson, Duchess of Windsor.

Photobucket

The bracelet is pavé-set with brilliant- and single-cut diamonds and calibré-cut onyx, with the eyes each set with a marquise-shaped emerald.

With £161m in my pocket, these diamonds would definitely be this girl’s best friend.

4)      I’ve always wanted to time travel, and I can’t imagine a more stylish way to do so then in the DeLorean time machine, from the Back to the Future series of films. A replica of the famous time travelling vehicle sold for £112,920 at a Profiles in History auction last year.

Photobucket

The only problem is the amount of speeding tickets I would inevitably acquire whilst cruising  along at 88mph willing the flux capacitor (it’s what makes time travel possible) to kick in…

5)      If I had £161m, I don’t think it would be fair to deny myself a genuine piece of songwriting history. And what better item than the piano Sir Paul McCartney used to write Yesterday, a song which has been covered over 1,600 times.

The piano actually belonged to McCartney’s friend, Alma Cogan. McCartney allegedly dreamt the melody of the song, and convinced that he had stolen it, visited Ms Cogan, who confirmed it was unique.

The piano fetched £150,000 at a Fame Bureau auction earlier this year.

So that’s how I’d be spending my winnings. What would you buy….?

By Kylie.

Subway dress image: Profiles in History

About paulfrasercollectibles

Expert opinion, news, views and interviews allowing you to collect and invest with confidence.

Leave a Reply

